Surprise!

I threw my friend Robyn a surprise party this weekend. It was a ton of fun, even if it didn’t end up really being a surprise. Believe it or not, after THREE WEEKS of planning, it was ruined for her on the day beforehand. Ridiculous. Still, it was a blast!

I spent most of Saturday getting the elements of the party together. The party had three themes: Robyn (duh), games, and “Would You Still Be My Friend if I Wore This?” That third part will explain the outfits you’ll see in the pictures below.

When it came to the “Robyn” part of the theme, that meant making cupcakes in her favorite flavors (lemon and cheesecake) and making sure the party was filled with things that she loves — like her favorite music (which was playing in the background), her favorite movies (which were supposed to be playing in the background, but I kind of forgot to do it), silly themes (thus the clothing), and games (thus… the games theme).

So, part of what I did on Saturday was to make the cupcakes: Lemon Cupcakes with Lemon Curd Filling and Lemon Cheesecake Frosting. What a mouthful.

Unfortunately, I was far too rushed to really take any pictures of the cupcakes (blogger fail!). They were, however, delicious (if I do say so myself). For the cupcakes themselves, I used this recipe from Baking Bites. I highly recommend it. They were perfect. Oh, and my only substitution is that I used vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk — simply because it’s what I had. I used Trader Joe’s Lemon Curd. So good. I could not have made it better homemade.

And, for the frosting, I just made it up.

Lemon Cheesecake Frosting

makes more than enough for 2 dozen cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter, room temperature
  • 2 blocks 8-oz cream cheese
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 3 lemons
  • 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar (or more or less, depending on what consistency you want)

Directions

Pretty simple. Cream butter, sugar and lemon zest together. Add lemon juice and powdered sugar, one cup at a time. Cream until smooth.

The best picture I took:

Yea… sorry about that.

The rest of the day was spent cleaning and buying things for the games we’d be playing.

Anyway, the party was more interesting. The costumes were fantastic.

I love my friends because they actually dressed up.

Game #1 of the night: The Saltine Challenge. This is where you try to eat six Saltines in one minute — a nearly impossible feat.

There were no winners, though Robyn came close.

The next challenge: Chubby Bunny. This is where you have to fit as many marshmallows in your mouth while still being able to say “Chubby Bunny.” This one was kind of hilarious.

The winner:

I don’t know the exact number of marshmallows he ended up fitting in his mouth (so close to a TWSS, yet so far…), but it was in the teens. Ridiculous.

The rest of the party involved other games, like flip cup (duh) and that game we played at the potluck last week (though I explained it wrong and it ended up being a huge flop). Also, I lost flip cup again. Badly. I don’t want to talk about it.

And there was, of course, the requisite singing of “Happy Birthday!”

By the way, that is literally the only picture of me/ my outfit of the night. Whoops!

It was such a fun party full of some of my favorite people and I hope Robyn had fun and felt loved.  Happy birthday, Robyn!!!

Have you ever thrown a surprise party or had one thrown for you?

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Surprise!

  1. Mark

    Chris looks GREAT! But why didn’t he dress up for the party?

  2. You are my hero of a party planner!

  3. Pingback: Pop Champagne | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

