Group Breakfasts

So, you know how I started a new job last week? Well, believe it or not, there was kind of a “hazing” that went along with the first two weeks. Nothing intense, certainly, but one of the things we “newbs” (there are eight of us) had to do was to bring breakfasts for everyone (around 20 people per day) for the first five days. Three of those breakfasts had to be warm and two were to be purchased from local places well-known and -loved.

Naturally, I took the leadership on this hazing ritual. As soon as I heard that the group before us had a food blogger as well (what are the chances?) and that she’d blown everyone away, I shot my hand up faster than Hermione in a classroom and said I’d be happy to take the reins for our group.

We quickly sketched out what each of our five days would look like, making sure to give everyone tasty and well-balanced ways to start their days.

Our Menu:

Day 1: Pastry Day

Pastries from the preferred bakery (Porto’s, if you’re curious), fruit, coffee and juice.

Day 2: Egg Sandwich Day

English muffins, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, fruit, coffee and juice.

People liked this one a lot! Definitely our highest-protein day, too.

Day 3: Oatmeal Day!

I took the lead on this one, so I have pictures.

I made the oatmeal in two Crockpots the night before.

That’s what I needed when I counted out twenty servings!

I threw all of these ingredients (except the almond milk) in the pots:

I did this in mass quantities, obviously, but the proportions were:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 1 cup water
  • dash salt
  • 1/2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

And then I set it to low and let it cook for 8 hours. I woke up a couple of times during the night to the amazing smells of vanilla and cinnamon! That, or to my panicked dreams that the oatmeal would fail since this was my first time trying it in a Crockpot or for more than two people. I wish I was kidding. Who has nightmares about oatmeal? This girl.

I woke up (at the appropriate time) to this.

Stirred.

Added more cinnamon and brown sugar to taste. Also added 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk.

Mixed it again, brought it to work, and served with these toppings:

I thought they should do oatmeal the healthy living blogger way, you know what I mean? Just in case you need the breakdown, the toppings I brought were:

  • strawberries
  • raspberries
  • blueberries
  • bananas
  • peanut butter
  • cinnamon
  • honey
  • granola
  • chocolate-covered sunflower seeds

People were definitely most excited by the sunflower seeds.

The oatmeal was… okay. To be honest, I didn’t love it. I think it would be a thousand times better in smaller quantities and using steel cut oats. They needed a little chew!

By the way… the cleanup of those Crockpots was a bitch.

Oh, and we also had coffee and juice that day!

Moving on…

Day 4: Bagel Day

Bagels and cream cheese from the preferred bagel place (Noah’s Bagels), fruit, coffee and juice.

Day 5: Waffle Day!

This was, in my opinion, by far the best breakfast. I shared duty on this one with one of my co-workers. He got a waffle-maker so we could make the waffles to order (a hit!) and also picked up some butter and syrup.

I made the batter using these ingredients (just following the Bisquick directions):

And also turned these peaches…

…into waffle-ready toppings.

Then, at work, we got to cooking!

Not bad, right?

The only problem — each waffle took so long that we newbs never got to enjoy them! Oh, well. We made a good impression. That’s all that matters… right? πŸ˜‰

What group breakfasts would you have made, trying to keep costs low, balance good, and happiness high?

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Group Breakfasts

  1. Mark

    Way to sneak in a hp reference!

  2. um, I want to work on the breakfast hazing days. All of that looks and sounds delicious!!!! πŸ™‚

    The oatmeal looks good! I bet the crockpot was hell. i hate cleaning those things.

  3. I cannot wait to hear about this new job! So very cool!

  4. Pingback: Some Honest Thoughts on Recovery | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

