Greek Stuffed Mushrooms

You guys have been giving me so many ideas (and cravings!) in your six-ingredient recipe comments on my Dinner @ 6 post (where, yes, you can still enter to win $100!). Some of you may see me sharing versions of your recipes as posts on KWH in the coming weeks. I hope that’s okay.

Anyway, I figured that if you guys were going to share all of these great recipes with me, I should probably share another one with you. And I figured I’d go with the simple theme, with just a few ingredients. That seems to be kind of a hit right now.

This one’s a good one. Fresh, flavorful, delightful, and healthy.

I bought portobello mushrooms recently and figured I’d come up with something to do with them. But then they just kept sitting there, day after day, and I kept postponing their use because no inspiration struck. Finally, I realized I needed to use them or they’d go bad. I hate wasting food, so I just looked around my kitchen and tried to figure out what would work.

And then, genius struck! It all started when I looked at the Japanese tomatoes I’d picked up (and hadn’t yet used) from the Farmer’s Market and thought about how freaking good they were when I taste-tested them (AKA the best part of Farmer’s Markets, obviously).

What else could I stuff the mushrooms with? I wanted a light meal. So, I looked in my vegetable drawer to see what else I had. Onions… spinach… Oh! I knew, suddenly! I could make Greek stuffed mushrooms.

It’s okay. I’ll say it. I’m a genius.

Greek Stuffed Mushrooms


makes two servings (though I’d suggest a source of protein alongside each)

Ingredients

  • 2 large portobello mushrooms
  • ~ 1/2 tbs balsamic vinegar
  • ~ 1/2 tbs EVOO
  • 1 large Japanese (or heirloom, or whatever) tomato
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1 cup fresh baby spinach, chopped
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • feta to sprinkle on top

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Marinate the mushrooms in EVOO & balsamic vinegar for about 15 minutes.

Chop the tomatoes and drain them. Chop the onions and spinach. Toss tomatoes, onions and spinach together. Drizzle a little more EVOO, salt & pepper on top. Toss again. Let sit.

Bake mushrooms for about 10 minutes to soften them. Take out and fill with tomato/ onion/ spinach mixture. Put back in oven for 20 more minutes.

Sprinkle feta on top and serve.

Light, interesting, and perfect for a warm dish for a summer evening.

I served mine with 2 small falafel each. The ideal complement!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Greek Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Oh yes, these do look very good indeed! Love mushrooms and stuffed like this you can really appreciate all the flavours. Very tasty!

  2. Sheila

    Wow, what a great idea! I love starting out with a concept for a meal and then seeing what I have on hand and using my creativity! I’m going to try it!

Leave a Reply

