High-Protein Soft-Baked Almond Biscotti

Whoa. What a mouthful.

So, the other day, Mark was cooking me (well, us) dinner in our tiny kitchen. Naturally, I decided that that was a perfect time to make biscotti.

So silly. In my defense, he does the exact same thing to me nearly every time I start cooking.

Plus, he was baking dinner at 375 degrees and what I was making needed to be cooked at 375 degrees, so… I mean… that’s perfect, right?

Whatever. The cookies were good.

I love biscotti. Like, really love. This probably comes from my Italian background. However, I’m not a huge fan of the super hard biscotti that break your teeth when you bite into them. Therefore, I tend to soft-bake them instead.

You should, too. Because I’m clearly the final word on all things wonderful.

I also made them fairly healthy — high in protein and made with sucanat and not sugar. Because, I mean, why not, right?

Oh, and forgive me for the pictures. I totally forgot to take pictures of the biscotti at home, remembered at work, and thus had to resort to a point-and-shoot camera and a plastic plate setting. Whoops.

Onto the recipe!

High-Protein Soft-Baked Almond Biscotti

makes about a dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup sucanat (or sugar, if you don’t want to use/ don’t have sucanat)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter (at room temperature)
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Grease a baking sheet with nonstick spray.

Sift together flour, almond meal, sucanat (or sugar), baking powder and salt.

Add butter, eggs and almond extract and use an electric mixer to blend until just combined. Dough will be very crumbly! Add almond slices and mix with hands.

Use hands to form dough into two logs.

Bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. Remove from oven. Carefully slice diagonally across each log, creating about six cookies from each log.

Turn each cookie onto one side and bake for 6 minutes.

Remove cookies from oven. Flip cookies. Bake for 6 more minutes.

Let cool on a wire rack.

Yummy yummy in my tummy. I actually ate one yesterday as a pre-workout snack and it was kind of perfect. It was weird but wonderful.

Do you have any cookie recipes that you’ve made healthier?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “High-Protein Soft-Baked Almond Biscotti

  1. Forgive my ignorance, but what makes biscotti biscotti? Is an under-baked Kaitlinified biscotti just a healthy cookie in disguise? Help me Kaitlin. I long to know these answers.

    • Haha, that’s not ignorance. 🙂 Biscotti are essentially twice-baked cookies. They’re known for being very hard and are often served with coffee or tea because people like to dip them to soften them. I love biscotti — i like the shape and I like them crunchy — but I don’t like them THAT crunchy, which is why I make them “soft-baked.” When I make them, I still bake them once in a log and then again on each side once sliced, but I lower the cooking time post-log baking.

  2. Those biscotti look epic, and I think it is just a fact of life that if one has an urge to bake at what seems like a ridiculous time, it is actually the perfect time (or at least that’s the story I’m sticking to).
    I’ve been experimenting with healthying up my baking for a while now, sometimes successfully and sometimes not so much. I really love subbing applesauce in for oil in most things, especially cinnamon applesauce. Because everything is better with cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

