Produce-Heavy Day Two

Man, I love days that are basically made of produce. They’re my favorite kind of day. I feel like I have so much more energy and so much less weight to me. That’s the best.

I started my day out, like I usually do, with my workout: a 45 minute strength class, followed by 35 minutes on the elliptical trainer. Sadly, my knee hurt quite a bit both during the workout and then all day. I think it had far less to do with yesterday’s workout, however, than the previous day‘s kickboxing session.

I came home and followed that with with a simple but delicious breakfast:

  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 cup 2% cottage cheese
  • heavy “sprinkle” of cinnamon

Good thing it was heavy on both the protein and the healthy carbs, because I had quite the morning! I had an informational meeting with someone I really admire in my business and followed it with a meeting with someone else very important, whose desk I will be covering for the rest of the week. Woohoo!

She actually bought me lunch, which was awesome because I had absolutely no time in my schedule to figure lunch out on my own.

Obviously, I wasn’t going to take a picture of it with her there (no need to look like a freak). So, I took a picture of the remaining somewhat-more-than-half in the car on the way out. Because, you know, that’s normal.

It was an Asian Chicken Salad, by the way. And I know the fried wontons (or whatever they are) aren’t exactly in line with the grain-free deal, but the salad was close enough. I didn’t really have a real choice of meals and this was the best I could do.

I then worked on my feet for the next four hours with only that much food in my stomach (whoops), so afterward, I greedily grabbed a handful of nuts (tee hee) for snack, which escaped the camera’s eye.

I also had these once I got home:

Fortunately, the nuts and cheese tided me over until dinner rolled around. I found myself craving socca, and I’m not one to ignore healthy cravings.

(There really are two socca underneath those veggies, just in case you can’t tell.)

I did, however, change things up. I still used Evan’s recipe, but I doubled it, lowered the salt to 1 tsp total, took out the Italian seasoning, and added:

  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • a dash of garam marsala
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • sprinkle red pepper flakes.

I also topped them, as you saw above, with broccoli, carrots and snap peas stir-fried in coconut oil and topped with:

  • soy sauce
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • red pepper flakes
  • lots of Thai seasoning

And, for dessert, I had the same exact thing as yesterday:

(Frozen pineapple and mango.)

Plus a(n unpictured) spoonful of sunflower seed butter. That stuff is so freaking good.

In other, kind of random news, something scary/ interesting happened during my strength class this morning. A woman had chest pains and paramedics had to come and do some tests and then took her to the hospital in an ambulance when those tests proved inconclusive. That was the scary part. The first interesting part was when various people in the class (who don’t even really know her!) felt it was their business to go out there and… stand over her while the paramedics were working with her? I’m sorry, that’s weird. Mind your own business. The other weird part was that we just kept going on with the class and basically pretended she wasn’t even out there (past the glass walls) with chest pains and paramedics. I mean, I think it’s a good thing that we didn’t all run out there, but there was something so strange about that to me!

What do you think? If you were the teacher, would you have stopped the class?

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Produce-Heavy Day Two

  1. I love Babybel cheese, so dang good!!!

  2. oh man how awkward! If I was teaching, I probably would have stopped class. Why do people think it’s appropriate to stand over someone? WHY?

    You’re doing great my friend!

Leave a Reply

