Trois

I’m already getting tired of the listing of days as post titles for this two week-long food diary deal. I’ve already turned to my French language skills (“skills”). We’ll see whatI end up doing by day 14. I may revert to creating my own languages, or something.

I didn’t work out yesterday, which, believe it or not, was actually following my rules. I really managed to further aggravate my knee on either Monday or Tuesday (again, I’m guessing it was Monday), so I decided that yesterday needed to be a day off. It worked out nicely, too, because yesterday was an important career day for me and getting a full night of sleep before days like those is always a good idea.

Anyway, I was still up bright and early (you know, for that whole important career day thing) and started my day off with a healthy, colorful and well-rounded breakfast.

I know you can’t tell, but there is yogurt in that yogurt bowl .

Can you sort of see the yogurt there? No? Oh well. It’s there. I promise.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup 0% plain greek yogurt
  • strawberries
  • blackberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • ~1 tbs sunflower seed butter

(Have you noticed that yogurt bowls are back with a vengeance, by the way? Or maybe, since I stopped blogging about my every breakfast, you barely even noticed that I’d curbed their consumption for a while. Either way, they’re back! Hooray!)

It was good. Reaaaaal good. Sunflower seed butter is my new obsession. You know, in case you hadn’t noticed. It’s ridiculous how quickly I’m getting through the jar all on my own.

I also had a big ol’ coffee with vanilla almond milk in it.

I like soy milk best, fat-free half & half second-best, and vanilla almond milk third-best. The only thing I don’t particularly like is regular milk. I’m sure you guys were curious.

Lunch was leftovers of the previous night’s dinner: curry socca and thai stir-fried vegetables.

Again, I swear there’s socca underneath those vegetables. I tried to take a side shot to prove it to you, but I’m not sure it actually helps any.

See it? Down there on the bottom?

I was actually really nervous to eat this once I realized that I’d be microwaving it in the office kitchen, which is really just a part of the floor with not so many people. I was afraid I was going to be the girl with the stinky lunch and that this was how I’d be remembered. As it turned out, nobody noticed. And other people had aromatic, hot meals, too. Maybe I worry too much somtimes.

Snack was a serving of almonds. Always does the trick.

It’s funny, though. The job I usually have has me on my feet all day. I get hungry, sure, but I’m distracted, so I end up eating less (usually). At a desk job, though (like my previous jobs and in the one I’m covering for this week), I end up much “hungrier” — which I think I’m starting to realize is just boredom. I’m trying to keep that in check simply by being aware of it.

By the time I got home, however, I genuinely was incredibly hungry. I could not make my dinner quickly enough. Fortunately, I had a ready-in-a-jiffy (who says that?) meal planned: an omelet made with microwave veggies and shredded mozzarella! In no time at all, I went from this:

To this:

To this:

To this!

I absolutely devoured it. Oh, and I saved the burnt cheese parts for last. Doesn’t everyone?

Finally, for a little dessert a while later, I… well, I kind of cheated. I know I said I’d only have fruit and tea for dessert, but I was really low on my frozen cherries and they just seemed to be calling out to be paired with chocolate.

Soooooo this was my dessert:

I feel mostly okay about it. I did, however, end up with a little tummyache. Not sure if that’s from consuming chocolate or from the speed with which I wolfed down my dinner, though. 😉

Don’t forget to enter my $100 AmEx gift card giveaway! It all ends tomorrow at noon!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Trois

  1. Do you like coconut milk? Andy and I switched from cow’s milk in coffee to coconut milk creamer (plain) and it’s SOOOOO good. I am obsessed.

    Cherries and chocolate are meant to go together. So good.

  2. lauren

    Burnt cheese…. mmmmm….

    I like seeing your meals, it inspires me to keep at my healthy eating project. Thank you 🙂

  3. I think your dessert was perfect lady! No shame! Cherries and chocolate are great!

  4. I really need to start creating meal plans around your ideas. 🙂 And those cherries look awesome!

  5. I wolfed my dinner last night too! And I must say I think your eats look stellar so far since the reboot…
    I’m still super curious to try coconut oil, but have been hesitant because my bf isn’t a fan of coconut. Also, when I finally tried coconut water I was… sad 😦 I may have to give the oil a try thought…

    • Try it! It’s not super coconutty — in fact, it reminds me more of butter than any other oil. I’m not a huge fan of coconut water, either. I have to water it down when I use it, and I haven’t used it since I had quit running. It’s WAY too sweet for me.

Leave a Reply

