The Weekend: Days 5 and 6 and the $100 WINNER!

First up: HAPPY OCTOBER! Also known as happy my second-favorite month of the year! (Second favorite only to December — clearly the best month of the year. Clearly.)

(Also, I can’t believe I haven’t introduced pumpkin into my diet yet. Who am I? What kind of healthy living blogger am I? Seriously.)

So, as you may remember, I spent my Friday evening with some of my cold and carbonated friends. As a result, I woke up late the next day, wasn’t particularly interested in food for most of the day, spent the majority of the day reading in my pajamas, didn’t work out, and wanted only one thing for breakfast: eggs and toast.

Fortunately, Mark had replenished the egg supply by the time I woke up.

I also stole two slices of his vegetable bread. Don’t tell him, ‘kay?

The breakfast I made is one I grew up with, which you may remember my mom making for me when I went home in August.

I didn’t eat again until about 3pm, when I decided to get off my butt for a little while and run a few errands. While I was out, I picked up some snacks, which became my lunch: a big thing of melon and some peanut butter pretzels. They were all that sounded good.

And they were. Ooooh so good.

I ate these snacks while finishing a book, which I’d borrowed from Amanda. The book is called Escape, by Carolyn Jessop.

(source)

It’s a memoir about how she lived in and then escaped from the FLDS cult. It was such an interesting read and I’m so glad Amanda recommended it, because I’m not sure it’s something I would have picked up on my own. I highly encourage all of you to give it a read! It teaches you a lot about a world that you almost definitely don’t know anything about. Or, at least, that’s what it did for me.

I actually wasn’t really hungry for the rest of the day — I know, so unlike me. However, when I baked protein cookies that night (the recipe for which is to come — and you’ll loooove them!), I had a couple of those as “dinner.”

Whatever. It worked. I’m not going to force myself to eat if I’m not hungry!

When I woke up this morning, I really felt like being back on track. After not working out for two days, I knew I wanted to get a workout in. So, I chowed down a protein bar…

… and hit the gym, yo!

I did 60 minutes on the PreCor. I did 30 minutes doing intervals and then 35 minutes doing a really intense climb. The first 30 minutes were a struggle, but I felt the endorphins kick in during the second half and I felt so good!

I wasn’t hungry for hours after that (seriously, what’s with me?), but eventually the hunger kicked in and I got a Thai Chopped Chicken Salad at Panera.

I ate the bread kind of without even thinking about it. Oh well. The salad was awesomesauce. It’s so spicy that it makes my nose run! Then again, I’m a total wimp. Seriously, it’s embarrassing.

Dinner that night was ol’ faithful and was that thing I was craving so badly on Friday night.

Yum, yum, yum.

I also had a Honey Nut cookie (those are the cookies I made on Saturday) for dessert. I’m a genius.

And last but certainly not least, I have the winner of the Dinner @ 6 $100 American Express Gift Card Giveaway! HOORAY!

The winner is… drumroll please…

Mac! Congratulations!

Not gonna lie, I was pretty excited when I realized it was someone who has been so supportive of KWH that ended up winning. Nice to come full circle like that.

Everyone have a nice weekend? Tell me the highlights, yo!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

5 responses to “The Weekend: Days 5 and 6 and the $100 WINNER!

  1. Naw, I am even more weak when it comes to spice. I bet i would have been crying eating that salad I’m so bad with hot stuff!

    And I can’t wait to hear about those cookies!

  2. Mac

    WOO HOOO!!!!!!! I never win anything!! This made my week! 🙂

    And also, I used to eat the same breakfast all the time when I was a kid, my grandma would make it for me and I loved it. We called it an “egg in a basket.” oh man, I want some now.

    But mostly, I WON!!!

  3. What is this vegetable bread you speak of?

Leave a Reply

