Weekend on the Couch

I was invited to a ton of fun events this weekend. Despite being sick, I told myself I’d be able to make it to every single one. I refused to admit that I wouldn’t be able to make it. I gave every person who invited me a “we’ll see, but probably!”

I could drag this out for a bit longer, but I’ll spoil the surprise: I didn’t make it to a single one.

Instead, I sat on my couch and ate a lot of soup, tried to consume a lot of immune system-boosting foods (read: garlic, cinnamon and blueberries), and drank a lot of tea, orange juice, and ginger ale. Oh, and I ate a lot of Saltines… but that’s different. Sort of.

Don’t believe me? Well, I definitely didn’t take a ton of pictures (pretty much the last thing I care about when I’m sick), but I did take a few just to prove my point.

Mark made the antioxidants part pretty easy. See, when I got home on Thursday, I found that Mark had made an entire batch of whole wheat, refined sugar-free blueberry muffins, simply because he wanted one muffin.

I’m a really good roommate because I’ve been all over eating the rest of them.

For the antioxidants, of course.

Alongside the muffins on Friday, I also had less than half a cup (all I had left) of nonfat greek yogurt with more blueberries and cinnamon.

Over the weekend, the muffins were enough. Seeing as how I haven’t really gotten off the couch, I haven’t really needed much food.

Alongside every breakfast? Orange Juice.

That cup you see holding the orange juice is a Tervis Tumbler, which was sent to me because I’m a part of the Foodbuzz Tastemakers program. Pretty sweet, right?

Foodbuzz tells us that these cups are “virtually indestructible” and that they keep hot drinks hot and cold drinks cold. So far, so good! No arguments from me. I’m happy to have it. It seems pretty kid-friendly, too! Of course, I don’t have any kids, but I do have Mark. 😉

Anyway, I didn’t just limit my  Tervis Tumbler to OJ — it was also used for ginger ale, which I’ve been drinking fairly heavily alongside Saltines because my meds make my tummy hurt.

And the cup has been enjoyed alongside many a bowl of soup, too.

This bowl was filled with Chicken Pot Pie soup. It was good! I started to get a little sick of Italian Wedding and Chicken Noodle, so I had to start branching out.

The rest of my weekend has been basically taken over by my television. I have now not only caught up on almost everything on my DVR, but I also managed to watch four different movies.

I watched True Grit on Sunday, which I definitely enjoyed (though I felt it was a little bit long).

(source)

I think Hailee Steinfeld is amazing. I actually worked with her once on a movie when I was in grad school!

But it’s Saturday’s collection of movies, actually, that I think was interesting. I didn’t mean to do it with movies #1 and #2, but I realized the theme before #3 and thus made my choice accordingly.

Movie #1: Winter’s Bone

(source)

Movie #2: The Last Song

(source)

annnnd Movie #3: The Kids Are All Right

(source)

I know. Three Oscar contenders and The Last Song. The irony does not escape me.

Buuuut who can figure out the theme of the three Saturday movies?

The Hunger Games!

Winter’s Bone starred Jennifer Lawrence, The Last Song starred Liam Hemsworth, and The Kids Are All Right starred Josh Hutcherson. That’s Katniss, Gale and Peeta, respectively. And honestly, after seeing these three movies, I am absolutely sold on each of these actors. I am so happy, especially with Katniss and Peeta (the last of whom really matters to me!).

(source)

I am so excited for these movies, it’s not even funny.

Who else is a Hunger Games fan? How do you feel about the casting choices?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Weekend on the Couch

  1. I was lucky enough to see Winter’s Bone at Sundance, and LOVED it. When I found out they had cast her as Katniss I thought it was a great choice. It is kinda amazing how strong the parallels are between the two characters, despite one being set in post apocalyptic North America and the other in modern day America.

    I haven’t seen enough of the other two to feel strongly either way about them. Fingers crossed through.

  2. The blueberry muffins look sooo good and bursting with blueberry goodness!!! Hope you are feeling better quickly!!!

  3. Mark

    The tumbler is totally Mark friendly! But I bet I could put that thing through it’s paces. Virtually indestructible my ass!

  4. Hope you are feeling better and that the weekend of relaxation did you good! 🙂

  5. I am soo excited for the Hunger Games! When I finished the books I was so sad and didn’t want it to end. I really hope the movies come out as awesome as the books were! Feel better BTW, but it sounds like an awesome weekend of soup and movies.

  6. I am way too excited for the Hunger Games.

    Also, wasn’t The Kids are Alright great? I LOVED IT!

  7. I agree, True Grit was good but definitely could have been cut a little shorter.

Leave a Reply

