Honey Nut Cookies

So, here’s the thing: I have a sweet tooth. And fruit cuts it a lot of the time, but sometimes, I just want a cookie, or something. You know what I mean?


But I also really want to succeed in sticking to my plan at least most of the time (I have this mindset that 80/20 is a fair goal to aim for), so it’s not like I’m okay with getting off track on a regular basis.

This is why I came up with a recipe for protein-packed, filling and delicious cookie made without flour or regular sugar.

I also came up with this recipe because I was inspired by Honey Nut Cheerios, which I have been craving for over a week now. No big deal.

I also came up with this recipe because my friend Amanda now has to eat a grain-free diet and I want to have more recipes in my repertoire that I can make for her.

I also came up with this recipe because I’m awesome.

Oh, was I not supposed to say that?

Whoops.

Honey Nut Cookies

makes about 18 cookies

Ingredients

  • 3 cups almond meal
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup pure honey
  • 1/2 cup sucanat (brown sugar would probably work too)
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) butter
  • 1/2 cup nut butter (I used almond butter since it’s what we had, but I really wanted to use peanut butter)
  • 2 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chopped, toasted walnuts

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Once the oven has heated, toast chopped walnuts on a baking sheet for 5 minutes.

Sift together almond meal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Add honey, sucanat and butter. Use electric mixer to blend — and blend well!

Add nut butter, vanilla and egg and blend well again.

Stir in toasted walnuts.

Scoop out heaping tablespoons of dough and place on greased baking sheets.

Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes. Cookies will spread and brown slightly.

They will be chewy, soft and delightful! Enjoy.

So good. Make them. Your tastebuds will be happy and so will your waistline.

You’re welcome.

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “Honey Nut Cookies

  1. Yum city! And fact, you are awesome.

Leave a Reply

