Orange You Glad…

Yesterday was the day of orange. I knew it would be from the beginning. I like to think of it as a day with a sunny outlook. Anyway, because I saw the theme coming from a mile away, I decided to document it.

I started my day out with orange juice and pumpkin yogurt.

The orange juice is pretty self-explanatory, but as for the pumpkin yogurt…

Into the mix went:

  • Vanilla 0% Chobani
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • Nut Granola
  • a sprinkle of Kashi Go Lean! Crunch
  • dash of nutmeg
  • a few shakes of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin butter

It’s funny — both times I’ve had pumpkin yogurt, I thought it had a weird texture for the first couple of bites and then got totally addicted to it.

I’m weird.

But seriously, it’s like pumpkin mousse. You have to try it. Just give it a few bites.

I also had some Pumpkin Spice coffee, which I purposefully served in my orange mug.

You can call it cheating. I call it “working with what I’ve got.”

Lunch was a blogger favorite.

That’s half of a (huge!) sweet potato (which I’d baked the night before at 400 degrees for about an hour), topped with about a serving and a half of baked beans.

This combination is fantastic. I love it.

See?

It’s even (c’mon, be imaginative) sooooort of in the shape of a heart! Plus, it could not be easier to prepare.

The only problem was that it was quite hot out yesterday and I wasn’t all about the hot lunch. Oh well. There are worse problems to have.

I went out for tea (well, we went out for coffee, but I got tea) with my friend Amy after work. I stuck with the theme. I also cheated worked with my circumstances again for the sake of the orange theme.

That’s vanilla rooibos tea, which was lovely.

Funny thing about dinner — I’d planned on eating another orange dinner, but then I came home to this:

… and a note from Mark telling me to help myself.

I have the best roommate, ever. Hands down.

And, I mean, it was fate that there were orange tomatoes on it.

And yes, I did choose my piece accordingly.

The things I do for love blogging.

By the way, in case any of you were wondering, I pushed my surgery to next week. So, no, I’m not going under the knife today. The surgery is now scheduled for next Wednesday, the 19th. Cross your fingers for me that it actually goes according to plan this time?

I actually think I’m more prepared for it now and I’m glad it was pushed. In fact, I am absolutely convinced that the reason I got sick was because I was so nervous and worked up about the surgery. I wasn’t ready yet. I (think I) am now.

What do you think? Can you make yourself sick from worry? Have you ever done that?

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Orange You Glad…

  1. Mark

    you absolutely can!!!! It’s all mind over matter.

  2. Love the orange theme!
    Yes, I believe you can totally make yourself sick with worry, stress, anger, etc.

  3. These are my kind of meals! I am obsessed with orange food. Pumpkin yogurt is my all time favorite! I made it once when my aunt was over and she looked disgusted by it, but I made her take a bite and now she’s a convert 🙂

Leave a Reply

