Surgery Today

Well, folks, the day is here. In fact, this post is scheduled to go up the moment I’m scheduled for surgery: 8:30 AM on Wednesday, October 19.

I’m writing this post the night before surgery, hoping that writing things out a bit will calm my nerves. Truth be told, I’m a huge ball of anxiety at the moment. I feel like I’m going a mile a minute on pure adrenaline, now that the surgery is truly upon me. I’m actually surprised that I managed to sit down and start writing this post.

Ironically, since, I wrote that last line, I got up to do something else that I remembered I had to do, did roughly fifteen other things, and am now sitting down to write again 45 minutes later. God, I’m predictable.

Anyway, there are about a thousand reasons that I’m scared and nervous and unsure, but as I was cleaning out my wallet (obviously something that desperately needed to be taken care of the night before my surgery — so telling), I found this:

I think I needed the reminder.

Because, well, the really optimistic thought is this: Getting this surgery just may bring me back to my favorite version of myself.

You know, this girl:

Wish me luck, guys. I need all the good vibes I can get. I need all of your optimism, too.

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

11 responses to “Surgery Today

  1. HUGS AND LOVE…and wishes for a speedy recovery! 🙂

  2. Lauren

    Thinking of you today… and when you go for your first run, I’m going with you!!! XOXO

  3. Sending good vibes. Hoping for a speedy recovery. I want one of my favorite race buddies back!

  4. Hope everything goes well and you have an amazingly, quick recovery! xoxo

  5. Amanda

    You’ll do great! Text me when you’re feeling up to it!

  6. Laura @Backstage Balance

    Good luck, Kaitlin! Hope that everything went well today and that you’re comfortably recovering and watching some awesomely bad sitcoms at the hospital.
    While I was in recovery following surgery a couple years back, I couldn’t wear my contacts or glasses and passed some time listening to episodes of ‘Saved by the Bell.’ It was surprisingly entertaining!

  7. Pingback: HAPPY November! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

