Upgraded Mac N’ Cheese

FYI: I knew I’d be on painkillers today, so I wrote this post days earlier and scheduled it to go up automatically. I plan to be back on Friday to give a post-surgery update! (I say that, of course, on Monday, having absolutely no idea how the surgery will have gone.)

I really, really, really love macaroni & cheese. Like, for realz.

But, if you’re anything of a regular reader of KWH, you may notice that I rarely ever eat pasta. It’s just one of those foods that I have a really hard time rationalizing, nutritionally.

Not that I have a problem with chocolate chips by the handful, but that’s an entirely different story.

But back to the Mac N’ Cheese.

I can’t just eat pasta by itself because I’ll end up eating the entire box to be full and then I just get a stomach ache anyway. It’s a problem.

As you may notice in the pictures, this ain’t your regular mac n’ cheese. It’s healthified, yo!

Upgraded Mac N’ Cheese


makes 3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Annie’s Mac N’ Cheese
  • 1/2 tbs Earth Balance/ butter/ whatever of the sort
  • 1/4 cup milk (I like 1%)
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 2 tbs parmesan
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Make pasta according to directions. Two minutes before the pasta is done cooking, add the frozen peas. Drain once cooked through. Put pasta & peas back into the now-empty pot. Add Earth Balance and stir until melted.

Drain chickpeas.

Stir in cheese sauce (again, according to directions), then add chickpeas, salt, pepper and parmesan.

That’s it!


Mark ate his with hot sauce and said it was awesome that way. Just FYI, in case you roll that way.

P.S. — I would totally have made this with the whole wheat version of Annie’s if I could have found it, but I couldn’t. I would suggest it, if you can.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Upgraded Mac N’ Cheese

  1. i love adding shelled edamame and/or broccoli

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Quinoa | Kaitlin With Honey

  3. Pingback: Weekend Eats | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

