Peets Coffee

So, my apologies to those of you who got a barely-even-started draft of this post sent to you a couple of days ago. Only those of you on my email list and who read my blog in RSS would have gotten it, but either way, it was a little embarrassing. Between that and the roughly four thousand typos, grammatical errors, and repeated thoughts in my Post-Surgery Update on Friday (most of which have since been remedied), I haven’t been on my game. My mom texted me on Saturday saying, “Maybe you should stop posting until you’re off of Percocet. Ha ha.”

She’s probably right. But that’s not going to happen.

Happily, to counteract those Percocet effects, I’ve got coffee!

My mom’s favorite commercial coffee is Peets. My taste in coffee is basically sculpted by my mom’s taste in coffee, since I grew up on it — well, I mean, I learned coffee from her. It’s not like I was drinking coffee when I was a little kid. Anyway.

Peets Coffee is pretty well known for their dark roasts, which has worked well for my mom and for me because we both like our coffee dark. Recently, Peets came out with two medium roasts and sent them to some of Foodbuzz’s Tastemakers. When I heard that Peets was doing this, I signed up immediately.

Peets and Foodbuzz sent us Café Domingo and Café Solano.

Here’s a little background from Foodbuzz:

If you know Peet’s, then you know their history is steeped in artisan-crafted, deep-roasted coffee, but after 45 years, Peet’s is introducing two new medium roast blends! Café Domingo is a blend of Central and South American coffees that is smooth, balanced and medium-bodied with more pure coffee taste. Peet’s coffee experts describe it as a medium roast cup with hints of toffee sweetness and clean crisp finish. Café Solano is a blend of African, Indo-Pacific and South American coffees that is lively and aromatic. Peet’s experts describe it at a world blend with floral notes and a subtle fruit essence for a lively, yet rounded cup. Both are medium roasted but have unique taste profiles – perfect to pair with brunch or dessert foods this fall.

I tried the Domingo first, because being told anything has a toffee sweetness makes me want to put it in my mouth immediately (TWSS).


This coffee was delicious. It’s telling that I think it’s delicious because the bag is already halfway gone and I’m the only one drinking it.

I would pair it with just about any sweet breakfast, other than one with fruit — yogurt, pastries, cereal, muffins, etc. I had it with a bowl of cereal and thought they balanced really nicely together.

This was the last cup of coffee I enjoyed before my surgery and the last one I was able to photograph myself.

I make it stronger than most people, I think — about a teaspoon and a half for each teaspoon most people use. It works for me. I don’t know if it’s just because I use a lot of coffee, or what, but I think that alongside that toffee taste is something reminiscent of chocolate.

It’s fab. Yes, I said fab. I highly suggest you try it. (The coffee, not the abbreviation. Or both.)

This weekend, Mark prepared a mug of the Solano for me.

This also meant he took on photography duties, which was very kind of him.

He did a really nice job… and he also went above and beyond.

By which I mean…. he decided to take some pictures of “taste-testing.”

I’ll spare him the embarrassment of posting all of them, but I’ll post two of my favorites.

Cute.

The Solano was good, though I didn’t like it anywhere near as much as I liked the Domingo.

It was actually a pretty rich coffee and stood really well on its own, which makes me think it would pair nicely with something like a bagel and cream cheese or peanut butter toast.

I also think it would pair better with fruit because the acidic notes in this coffee would match better with acidic fruit than the sweeter notes of the Domingo.

Overall, while I obviously liked the Domingo better, I like both coffees and will be trading them off with my breakfasts for the next few weeks. Thanks, Foodbuzz and Peets!

Meanwhile, I’m obviously still healing and I’m sure you’re all wondering how I’m doing. I’ll be back tomorrow with an update about my weekend and with more solid information since my Post-Op with the actual surgeon is tomorrow morning.

Wish me luck!

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Peets Coffee

  1. Oh, i love Peets! I actually am a huge fan of their teas but was recently introduced to their coffee and yum!

Leave a Reply

