Blueberry Oatmeal Happiness

I made THE MOST AWESOME bowl of oatmeal this morning.

Vegan oatmeal. I mean, it’s not hard to make oatmeal vegan, but it was vegan nonetheless and I feel the need to point it out because I’m doing that whole vegan thang right now.

20111104-105853.jpg

It was raining and really cold in LA this morning. By “raining and really cold,” I mean that it had drizzled during the night and it was 60 degrees, but don’t worry about it. LA has ruined me.

It was obvi dot com an oatmeal day, you know what I mean?

20111104-105908.jpg

I didn’t want to have just any old bowl of oatmeal, though. I wanted it to be special.

And oh, my friends, it was.

It was Blueberry Oatmeal Happiness.

20111104-105859.jpg

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup 5 grain + flaxseed mix
  • 2/3 cups + 1 tbs water
  • dash salt
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 capful pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 banana (fairly ripened), smushed
  • a few dashes of cinnamon
  • pinch of brown sugar
  • handful of frozen blueberries
  • spoonful of sunflower butter

Directions:

Honestly, it was super easy. I put the grain mix in with the water and salt, brought it to boil, kept it on at a low heat for about five-ish minutes, added the almond milk/ vanilla/ cinnamon, let it simmer for a couple more minutes, added the banana, another minute, and then added the blueberries and brown sugar and cooked it for another couple of minutes to let the blueberries heat all the way through.

I then topped it with a spoonful of sunflower butter, AKA one of my new favorite foods.

I finished that ish real fast.

20111104-105920.jpg

It was amazing. Especially when I mixed the sunflower butter through it.

And I sort of loved that it was blue. Colorful breakfasts are more fun.

Biggest lesson in my vegan experiment so far: it does not have to be difficult at all. In fact, it has so far just made me a more experimental (and therefore better) cook.

Woohoo!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Blueberry Oatmeal Happiness

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    This looks so good! I love blueberries!

  2. yes! I feel like having a restriction of some sort does force you to cook outside of the box. And not in a bad way at all. I’ve made some awesome vegan/gluten-free/dairy free meals lately that are so much better than our standard meals.

    Breakfast is my rut though, I need to work on that.

  3. I bought a crap ton of blueberries this summer and froze a big bag of them, they are so good in hot oats!

Leave a Reply

