Butternut Squash Curry

You guys! I have a REAL RECIPE to share with you!!!

It feels like forever since I’ve posted one of these. I’m very excited. You know, in case you couldn’t tell from the caps and exclamation points.

Now, I feel I should warn you: It may look like slop…

…but it tastes like happiness.

Sometimes, the homeliest-looking meals taste the best. In my opinion, this just might be one of my best recipes. So, ignore (or embrace!) the appearance and trust me: make it!

(Also, it might have been prettier, but I failed to take a picture of it last night when I made it, and then I mixed it together with the rice because I had leftovers, not pictures, in mind. Bad blogger. Tsk tsk. And to think of the pretty layers I could have made… but, I digress.)

The spark for this recipe was started by my awesome boss, Catherine. She brought me this recipe, which she’d found in Sunset Magazine this weekend.

It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside that a recipe like this makes someone think of me.

Anyway, I immediately fell in love with the Sunset Magazine recipe Catherine gave me and may actually make it as-is someday, but I ended up adapting it so heavily that it actually isn’t that recipe at all anymore. So, here’s the one I came up with.

Butternut Squash Curry

makes 5 big servings or 6 small ones

Ingredients:

  • 1 large butternut squash
  • salt to taste
  • ~ 2 tbs EVOO (reminder, for new readers: that’s extra virgin olive oil)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 tbs curry powder (Which, FYI, is not the same thing as curry leaves — totally different. I did know that going in.)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • pinch of brown sugar
  • 1 package (technically 4 servings) Trader Joe’s Confetti Rice

(The rice looks like this:)

I personally feel that the flavor in this rice took the meal to a whole new level. If you have access to a Trader Joe’s, you must make this meal with this rice. However, if you don’t, regular basmati rice is a great option!

Directions:

Cut the butternut squash in half (it will make everything so much easier), peel it, scoop out the seeds, and cut it into about 1-inch chunks. Lightly salt the pieces of squash.

Heat one tablespoon of the oil in a large pan over medium-high heat, then lightly brown the squash. Once the squash is browned (it will still be pretty hard), set it aside in a bowl.

Add the diced onion to the now-empty pan and add the other tablespoon of oil and a sprinkle of salt. Cook the onion over medium-high heat for about 10 minutes or until it’s all evenly taken on a nice golden color.

Sprinkle the curry powder, cinnamon, turmeric and ground cumin into the onions, then saute for another minute.

Add the squash back into the pan, then add the chickpeas and the coconut milk. Stir, add a pinch of brown sugar, and stir again. Lower the heat to a simmer, cover the pan, and cook until for about 10 minutes more or until the squash is tender.

Meanwhile, heat the rice (per directions) in the microwave.

Serve the curry dish over the rice (I know it’s supposed to be four servings of rice, but the curry dish is filling and the rice can easily be split into six servings) and enjoy!

Your house will smell amazing. You have my word. Both the curry and the rice are beyond fragrant. You’ll be drooling as you wait to eat it.

Or, I was, anyway.

I guess my co-workers will be the judge, when I re-heat this lovely bowl at work today.

I’ll let you know. Then again, it was one of those lovely co-workers, Caitlin (Beautiful name, right? Weird spelling, though…) who helped me make it. We’ve decided to start a cooking series on here called cooking with the K(C)aitlins. Basically because we’re awesome. I’d better watch out, though. My cooking buddy Lauren might get competitive…

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Butternut Squash Curry

  1. Catherine

    I love this post. I’ve read it more times than I care to admit. Thought you might want to know that little piece of information.

Leave a Reply

