Running Envy

I miss lacing these guys up for fun reasons.

20111114-112023.jpg

You know that feeling of excitement and anticipation and a little bit of dread (I even miss that part)  before a run? Because you know it’s going to take you at least a mile to get into it but that once you’re in the middle of mile two you’re going to feel amazing and by mile three, you’re going to feel like a superhero.

Or, at least, that’s how I feel when I run.

Well, ran.

I love that feeling — the sense of a strong body and power and the feeling that I can do anything if I can run six miles and still feel like I could keep going at the end of it.

Of course, it’s now been over a year since I’ve run six miles, and it’s been almost a year since I ran at all. December 11, to be exact.

(Which, yes, DOES mean my birthday is coming up, thankyouverymuch for noticing…)

Anyway, it’s been almost a year, so I’ve obviously had running envy for a while now. I’ve mentioned it. However, I’ve noticed my jealousy even more than usual lately. I think it’s the whole “mobilly-challenged” thing.

(Side note: mobilly challenged? Is that right? I just asked the entire office at work how to spell that and nobody knew. I swear I’m smart. Sometimes.)

Anyway. Running Envy. It doesn’t take much.

Honestly, all I need to do is look down at a sidewalk and I get a little sad.

20111114-112011.jpg

However, I’ve done this before — I get a little too wrapped up in what I can’t  do that I end up not even doing the things I can do.

Stupid.

I’m so predictable, too. Because, for the past few weeks, I’ve been sort of slacking off on my PT exercises (predictable) and haven’t picked up my weights once (also predictable).

There’s nothing wrong with my arms, friends. Nothing.

Anyway, I decided to get my act together today and change that. So, this morning, I woke up at 6:30, went to the gym, did my 15 minutes on the bike, came home, did my leg PT exercises once (I’m supposed to do them four times a day), lifted weights for 30 minutes (woohoo!), and then did my leg PT exercises again.

20111114-112017.jpg

It’s ridiculous how much better I already feel. And it’s not like this is a new lesson, or anything. This is a lesson I’ve learned before.

Anyway, I think I’ll easily slip back into this routine, so I’m not worried about this whole feeling-sorry-for-myself-and-not-doing-anything-to-help-myself thing continuing. I think the trick is waking up early to do these things, just as I used to do for my workouts. I have to think of this as my new workout because otherwise I get lazy about it.  I never (well, very rarely) get lazy about working out, so it’s just going to be a matter of a little mind trick.

That makes sense, right?

I do, however, want to mix up my arms & abs  routine a bit, since I’ll clearly be focusing on them. So — What are your favorite arms & abs exercises?

 

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Running Envy

  1. I tend not to do arm because I’m lazy but I love abs. I do this thing in yoga where we lay on our backs with our legs straight up in the air, ankles crossed. Then you lift your booty off the floor, just an inch. It should feel like you’re pressing your spine against the floor and then you ease down slowly. I do twenty, switch ankles and do 20 more. It gets into the lower abs.

  2. Your mother, again

    The fork lift.

  3. Arms and Abs. I hate arm stuff, but Abs!!!! LOVE them. Look up Jackknife situps or crunches on the net, and also V-ups. Also russian twists with the medicine ball, some of these might be a bit difficult for you to do with your knee like it is, but…I did them with my messed up hip (well all except for the russian twists, someday, but today is not that day! Good on you for not letting the running envy get you down….I’ve got a severe case of it right now.

  4. I love bench dips – the tricep area is my favorite muscle group to workout in the upper body region. 🙂

    I miss working out so much! And running! When I hear a song that takes me back to my running days it makes me long for that hour of the fight to keep my legs moving.

Leave a Reply

