Two Weeks Vegan, Done

I finished my two weeks of being vegan!

Overall, I felt really good about eating as a vegan. My body felt good and I enjoyed the challenge. When my two weeks were up on Monday morning, I felt kind of sad that the challenge was over. I also lost ten pounds during those two weeks, so that’s nothing to sneeze at.

However, I missed eggs and cheese (really, mostly eggs) so much that I was glad to know I could have them again. I’ve already had both. No regrets.

That being said, I’ve actually continued to eat mostly vegan since my two weeks were up. My coffees have continued to be made with soy milk, coconut creamer, and even almond milk (as with the delicious almond milk latte with one pump of almond syrup below).

20111116-090252.jpg

My first non-vegan day actually started with a vegan breakfast…

20111116-090337.jpg

That’s Kashi Go Lean! Crunch with blueberries, blackberries and almond milk.

(By the way, is it  berry season? Those berries were the bomb dot com.)

Lunch was also vegan. It was the new Bistro Salad from Trader Joe’s.

20111116-090318.jpg

Have you guys tried this salad yet? It’s fantastic. It has edamame, cranberries, almonds and kale in a lemon dressing. It’s amazing. And it takes forever to eat, which is a bonus for a fast eater like myself.

Dinner was 100% not vegan, but it was still vegetarian! (More on that at the end of this post).

20111116-090307.jpg

That night, I was really happy to be done with the vegan experiment because I was back at that same restaurant/ bar I’d been to last week, at which I was unable to get anything except chips and salsa. That was probably my only frustrating vegan moment.

Anyway, that single-serving pizza was a margherita pizza and it melted in my mouth. My reunion with cheese was magical.

Magical, I tell you.

My reunion with eggs was less magical but still good.

20111116-090312.jpg

The hot part, anyway. That spinach & feta breakfast wrap from Starbucks is usually one I love, but sadly, it was kind of cold in the middle! That’s never happened to me before, so it was definitely a fluke. But, you know, cold egg whites aren’t the yummiest.

It’s okay. I’ll have a better and more magical reunion with eggs tonight at home. I’ve been thinking about this meal for two weeks and two days now, so I might have kind of a moment when I eat it.

Lunch yesterday was the same as the lunch from the day before. That salad is too good.

Dinner last night was made with my favorite cooking buddy, Lauren. We made a quinoa chili that we adapted from a recipe she found in Clean Eating Magazine.

20111116-090348.jpg

It was reallllllllllly good, so I’ll be doing a post with that recipe soon! Get psyched.

Anyway, I want to address how I’ll be eating from now on.

I think it would be really unrealistic of me to say that I could continue to be vegan. While I really enjoyed the challenge and certainly could have gone on with it longer, I also spent the two weeks looking forward to eating eggs and dairy (well, cheese, and at least any whey or milk ingredients in things like Kashi crackers or other healthy processed foods) again. For me, being vegan was a challenge I loved in part because I knew it had an end date.

There are a lot of habits that I’d like to keep up from being a vegan. The only things I snacked on during those two weeks were fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, veggies and hummus. Seriously, that’s it. I loved how that made me feel and I plan on keeping this habit.

I also enjoyed not eating meat. I feel really good about being a real vegetarian for a while. Or, actually, a pescetarian. I haven’t yet had fish, but I know that I will want it to be an option for me.

I don’t want to make any promises for how long I will keep  up being a pescetarian. I haven’t really had any craving for for meat or poultry yet, but I also know that if that craving ever comes, I want to be open to having it again. I’ve had so many issues with so many different foods in the past that I don’t want to make a hard and fast rule for myself that says I can never have something again. If I start feeling that, for any reason, I need to re-introduce meat into my diet, I will.

That being said, I plan on being meat-free (meaning no chicken, beef or pork) for a while. I don’t know how long it will last (two months? forever? who knows.), but I feel really good about how it fits into my lifestyle right now.

Have you ever been a pescetarian or vegetarian before? Are you now? How did you come to the decision?

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

10 responses to “Two Weeks Vegan, Done

  1. Congrats on finishing your vegan challenge. Looks like it was a great way to shake up your diet and that chili looks ah-maz-ing!

  2. Congrats on your challenge! I’ve been a vegetarian since I was 12. It was very natural for me-as a huge animal lover I just couldn’t look a plate if meat in the face. I think my body is designed to need eggs and dairy though, so I buy cage-free and organic eggs and milk products. It works for me, but I definitely think if it as my choice, not something anyone else should HAVE to do. Everyone’s body new different things to be healthy…

  3. So we didn’t really have time to talk more at work, but I wanted to say I find you so inspiring. I struggle a lot with self-motivation and self-discipline (soooo much with self-discipline) and I love reading and seeing you deciding to do things like this challenge or kicking your knee problems in the pants and then DOING IT. I know you work really hard, but on the outside you make it look easy. I want to borrow your discipline or have you tell me what to eat or something.

  4. I just did a vegan day yesterday! Two weeks might be rough, but it would be interesting! My body does much better on meat/fish protein sources but I would much rather eat a vegan/vegetarian diet!

  5. I’ve been a pollo-vegetarian pretty much since I was 18. Was full vegetarian for 3 years starting at 15 but kind-of failed at the whole substituting meat with some other kind of protein thing, so that backfired.

    Honestly, the reason I don’t eat red meat or pork isn’t so much ethical or health issues, but more because I decided at 15 to be a punk and try to be vegetarian for the heck of it, and then when I started eating meat again I didn’t find myself missing beef/pork at all, so why bother re-introducing it? I’ve had red meat on a few occasions when it’s been unavoidable (ie: Mom making filet mignon for Christmas dinner) but it tends to make me super sick to my stomach, probably because my body doesn’t know how to digest it anymore.

    But yeah…I don’t really miss red meat or pork at all and it was pretty easy from the get go. Granted, I do eat poultry which you’re not doing, and I think I would miss that if I gave it up and was just a pescetarian. Primarily because while I love fish, I find poultry WAY easier to prepare and plan meal variety around (turkey chili, spaghetti bolognese with ground chicken breast instead of beef, basic grilled chicken, turkey burgers, etc.)

    • I can see myself eventually doing this, too. I’m so undecided right now, but it’s good to know there are so many ways of doing this! PS — I think it’s hilarious that you started doing all of this to be a punk. 😉

Leave a Reply

