Check-In

I realize I haven’t posted about how I’m doing, post-surgery-wise, in a while.

That’s also a good thing because I very much wanted to post today but find myself away from a computer all day today! This post will be brief and nearly picture-less, but whatever.

So, overall, the recovery has gone well — as in, I’m recovering. The surgery was successful and now I’m just focusing on getting back to normal (whatever that is).

That’s meant lots of physical therapy, for sure.

20111207-091853.jpg

Here’s what you may not know about PT: it’s painful. Seriously, it feels so counter-intuitive because you have to keep doing things that feel painful.

I was kind of bad about doing my exercises for a while, but I’ve gotten a lot better about it — even when it’s meant staying up late and waking up early to get them in.

Be proud of me. This is a big step in the right direction!

Speaking of exercises, I’ve moved up in the world. I’m now doing squats. Squats! Oh, how I’ve missed them so.

Squats are also, perhaps, my most important exercise right now. Why? The clicking. Allow me to explain.

You see, when it’s not one thing with my knee, it’s another. Now, one of the many reasons I went into surgery in the first place is because I hate the damn clicking. I hate it. I hate it So. Much.

I think you get how I feel.

Anyway, I got really upset a few weeks ago when I started walking up stairs again and found that my knee was still clicking. I actually started to get very nervous that my knee hadn’t been fixed.

Thankfully, my ever-wonderful PT again came to my rescue and assuaged my concerns. As it turns out, the clicking is not a sign that the menisectomy failed, but instead that I had something else wrong with my knee.

So, the bad news is that there’s more that’s wrong. But the good news is that it’s totally fixable through physical therapy. It’s just going to take a little while and some work. It’s okay. I can handle that. But anyway, that’s what those squats are for.

And thus, I have been a squatting machine. I will do anything to rid myself of the stupid click I hear and feel with every step of my right leg on stairs.

20111207-112149.jpg

I’m sure you can understand.

Anyway, overall, I’m good. I actually doubled my recovery time because I have a job in which I stand a lot and like to run around, so… Whoops. Oh well. I should be back to normal in January.

In the meantime, I’m just glad to be wearing normal clothes and cute shoes again.

20111207-125809.jpg

I cannot wait to wear heels again. Don’t tell my physical therapist.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Check-In

  1. I am going back to my PT because my knee started clicking again last week. I know how much it sucks. I hate the click too! Hope it goes away for you soon.

  2. Mark

    I miss the tape octopuses 😦

  3. actorsdiet

    i was wondering – thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

