Christmas Day

Ahh, I love Christmas. It’s my favorite holiday of the year. It might even be my favorite day of the year — even more than my birthday!

In my family, Christmas traditionally starts with the children (okay, now it’s “children”) opening their stockings first, before the adults (“adults”) are allowed into the room.

Tradition has sort of been thrown out the window, now that I awaken early with the “adults” and my brother still sleeps in until nearly noon like a teenager (he’s in his twenties). Nonetheless, we still start with our stockings. Our parents are just there with us now. And they open their stockings, too.

Before we got to anything else, post-stocking ritual, we all needed caffeine…

…and breakfast. And not just any breakfast. No, it was time for our traditional coffee cake.


…AKA the most unhealthy cake in the world. Last year, we tried a healthy version. This year, everyone else vetoed it. No big deal. We had fruit, too.

That makes it healthier, right?

Frankly, I agreed with them. I just took a small piece and paired it with a healthy serving of berries.

Don’t worry. The family still made a significant dent.

Keep in mind — there are only five of us.

Soon, it was time for the most anticipated part of the morning: the presents under the tree!

The family did not hold back. In no time at all, we went from this…

…to this…

…to this…

… to this.

What a bunch of slobs.

A highlight of the gifts?

My brother got me a WHOLE CASE OF PUMKING!

Best. Brother. EVER. Am I right??

Other “highlights?”

Oh, just some “Superstar” fuzzy PJ pants and a Hello Kitty t-shirt that says “Being this cute is exhausting!”

… I don’t want to talk about it.

I do, however, feel like talking about how much I love this picture of my siblings and me.

Love them. Love that we lined up in height order… again.

We spent the afternoon being lazy, watching a movie, and playing games.

My favorite, however, was…

Bananagrams!!! (AKA my new favorite game.)

I won the first round…

… but my family didn’t like that very much. And my family plays dirty. So, while I wasn’t looking, they switched the tiles around before the next round so that I got almost entirely consonants.

You know what they say about Karma, though? Check out my brother’s tiles.

He got what he deserved!

Wine helped the games (and my dad) be quite silly and fun.

Before we knew it, it was Christmas dinner time. No, we did not dress up. None of us even showered. Why do you ask?

We did, however, dress the table up. Someone had to look fancy.

Isn’t that pretty? My mom is amazing.

Those Christmas plates have been around for as long as I can remember.

Christmas was a wonderful day full of lots of love with my favorite people in the world.

But, all too soon, it was over.

How were your Christmases? I miss hearing from you guys!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

5 responses to “Christmas Day

  1. Looks like you had a merry Christmas! Your parents’ home looks so beautiful. My family also has a big breakfast on Christmas morning that usually stuffs me up so much that I want to fall back asleep! I can’t believe Christmas is over already.

  2. Pumking! Jealous! For multiple reasons of course.

    We have those same Christmas plates. My parents bought them when they were first married. Cute!

  3. Bananagrams! That game is so addicting! Let’s all play in LA soon after the new year!!!! I’m dying for some Bananagrams friends!

Leave a Reply

