Lentil Dip

First recipe of the new year! And it’s healthy! Hooray!

Honestly, I’m not sure how to approach blogging about this recipe.

I’d like to call it a happy accident, but that’s not entirely true. I made it up in my head and hoped for the best. At first, the best did not happen. The way I had planned on making this did not at all come through.

I think the way I’d actually approach describing the way this dip came about is that it happened through a bunch of mis-steps and a bunch of attempted solutions.

No matter what, though, it certainly had a happy ending. It was really quite nice. Thank goodness.

So, this is where I started:

FYI: I never used the corn. I half forgot and half gave up on it. But actually, I think it was for the best. I don’t think corn would have worked.

Oh, and I’m just going to tell you right now: I straight up eyeballed this recipe. I made it in the cabin and only found out once there that we didn’t have any measuring utensils. I think it worked out just fine, though. I’ve been cooking for a while. However, I not only eyeballed it, but halved the recipe I made up because we only had five people. So… well, I guess we’re just going to have to trust me, here, huh?

Anyway.

Here’s how it went down.

First, my plan was to serve everything raw. I’m not sure why I thought this was a good idea. I think I was tired.

Basically, I threw all of the ingredients (again, eyeballed) into the cabin’s blender to see what happened.

I had really high hopes.

Too high. Wanna know what happened? This happened:

Yea. Not so blended. As in, not blended at all.

I also tried tasting it and hated it. All I could taste was raw onion. Since, you know, the onion was raw. Duh.

My friend Michelle suggested that cooking the blend would not only cut that whole raw onion taste thing (she’s much smarter than I am), but would also soften the whole mix and allow me to try to blend it better.

So, I baked it, and then I used a hand mixer to blend it.

And then, because I’d given up on the dip at this point as a lost cause, I made Will taste it.

When he gave a positive review, I chanced a taste. Thankfully, I agreed! It was good! What a happy surprise.

So, I served it with these:

And I was happy. And so was everyone else! We made a pretty serious dent.

I thought it was a great dip for a party but I also think it’d actually be pretty yummy on a sandwich — kind of like hummus, but a little thicker.

Alright. Now for the recipe (Finally, right? I’m such a talker.)!

Lentil Dip

serves about 10 people as an appetizer

Ingredients:

  • 1 package cooked lentils from Trader Joe’s (or about 2 1/2 cups cooked lentils)
  • ~1 cup finely diced carrots
  • ~1 cup finely diced onions
  • ~1 cup finely diced celery
  • 1 1/2 cups Red Pepper Spread (with Eggplant & Garlic) from Trader Joe’s (or another red pepper spread)

Directions:

(I’m giving you the directions as they should be, not how I had to do it.)

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

If you have a food processor, throw all of the ingredients together into the food processor and process until blended but still a little chunky. If you have a blender instead, use that and don’t worry — it really probably won’t get too blended.

Put the processed mix into a baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Use a spoon to mix everything together, serve in a bowl, and put some chips around the dish.

It’ll be a healthy party hit!

I have to check that spread, but I think it might even be vegan.

Have you ever had a happy accident (or whatever this was) like this in the kitchen?

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

6 responses to “Lentil Dip

  1. actorsdiet

    i feel like a lot of my best recipes are accidental! like the time i tried to make bread and they turned into scones:

    http://theactorsdiet.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/breaking-bread/

  2. I think it looks fantastic and am thoroughly delighted you didn’t add corn – corn tastes like dirt šŸ˜€

  3. Lauren

    I’ve been waiting for this!! Thank you!!! šŸ™‚

  4. I love when things like this turn into good meals!!! It looks really good!

  5. You didn’t put any spices in it? Oh wait, I’m guessing there was in that spread…nevermind!

    I’ll have to try it! i love lentils! I just made snobby joes the other night!

Leave a Reply

