Pasta E Ceci Soup

I’ll go into this a bit further tomorrow, but I’m about to change the structure of KWH a little bit. Don’t worry – I’m pretty sure this is good news! Part of said good news is that I’m going to try to post at least one new recipe a week and will often be posting two recipes per week.

However, this does not mean that all of these recipes will be my own. While I love creating my own recipes, I’ve also found that – newsflash! – there are a lot of great recipes that I haven’t tried because I’ve been so busy trying to be creative and make up recipes for KWH.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I will continue to create new recipes – I just also really want to focus on making other peoples’ recipes, too. So, when I make recipes from other sources, I’ll make sure to give you those sources and then write them out here as I make them. I often tweak recipes, but I certainly don’t want to call them my own if they aren’t.

I have a feeling a lot of these recipes will be from magazines, books, websites, and even other blogs. However, when they come from other blogs, I won’t be writing my own versions of the recipes on here. I’ll just link for you and let you know only about the parts I did differently. Capiche?

Now, let’s jump in with the first recipe post from a magazine! Soup. Yummy soup.

I ate really well while I was at home. Maybe a little too well, if you know what I mean.

On one of those nights at home, my mom and I prepared a dinner together. This dinner was made of two different components, both of which we made from recipes my mom had pulled from a magazine.

I’ll break them up so you can have each recipe on it’s own, though.

The dish I’m sharing with you today was essentially the main dish: a soup. Pasta E Ceci Soup, to be exact. While we stayed pretty close to the original recipe for the other dish, this recipe was changed a fair amount. We changed it for taste, convenience, and to make it an easier recipe to prepare.

My mom found the original recipe for this Pasta E Ceci Soup from Williams Sonoma. You can find that recipe here. However, we found that recipe to be quite bland and changed it a fair amount.

Pasta E Ceci Soup

Makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbs (plus ½ cup) EVOO
  • 4 carrots, finely diced
  • 1 large yellow onion, finely diced
  • ½ tsp minced garlic
  • 1 16-oz can fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • sea salt to taste
  • ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp ground paprika
  • ½ tsp mustard powder
  • pinch coriander
  • pinch oregano
  • pinch cumin
  • 1 sage leaf
  • ½ lb small shell pasta (such as Cavatelli)
  • 1 cup ground romano cheese (optional)
  • grated parmesan for serving (optional)

Directions:

Really finely dice your carrots, onion and garlic. According to my mom, this matters. She fixed my diced carrots. Yes, seriously.

In a large pot over medium heat, warm the 3 tbs of EVOO. Add carrots and onion. Cook, stirring occasionally until softened (about 8 minutes).

Add garlic and diced fire-roasted tomatoes. Cook while stirring frequently for about a minute.

Add chickpeas, water, rosemary, thyme, onion powder, paprika, mustard powder, coriander, oregano, cumin and the sage leaf.

Increase heat to medium-high and bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and allow soup to simmer, uncovered, for about 40 minutes.

Add pasta, romano and the 1/2 cup olive oil and cook soup until pasta is tender.

Serve topped with grated parmesan.

It’s a pretty easy soup totally made from scratch and I love that it doesn’t call for any kind of sodium-filled broth!

P.S. — Don’t forget to enter the Chobani Giveaway!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Pasta E Ceci Soup

  1. Beautiful recipe ! Miam §

  2. Mac

    Can’t wait for you to make this for me! It looks splendid.

  3. Pingback: Pasta E Ceci Soup | Kaitlin With Honey | How To Cook Pasta Tips

  4. Pingback: Spinach Artichoke Bread | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

