The First WIAW(T)

Hello and welcome to my first What I Ate Wednesday!

So, it kind of occurred to me that it’s not really going to be “What I Ate Wednesday” if I actually want to post in a timely fashion on Wednesdays. Whoops. However, you don’t really care what day I actually ate my food on, right? (‘Cause, if you did, that’d be sort of weird…). What I figure is that I’ll post on Wednesday mornings but write about my Tuesday eats. NBD.

Well, I’ll start with my workout: I began the morning with an arms strength training set and all of my knee PT exercises. I’m getting so much stronger! Thank goodness for that.

Now for the food. There’s a lot of sickness going around my office these days, so I’ve decided that I’m jut going pack myself full of lots of fruits and veggies to naturally get as many vitamins into my body as possible right now.

To start my day off right in that sense, I made myself a smoothie — even though it was so cold out yesterday!

20120117-225326.jpg

Into the mix went: (gosh, remember when I used to write that daily?)

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1 cup frozen berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries)
  • 1/2 small banana
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tbs whey unflavored protein powder (from the bulk bins — SO much cheaper!)

I really wanted spinach, but I didn’t have any on hand.

20120117-225333.jpg

Very easy and healthy breakfast-on-the-go for a busy girl like myself!

Speaking of meals on-the-go… lunches, at least for the next three months, are almost exclusively going to have to be prepared meals (unless I happen to have leftovers). I’m so busy right now  — I have two jobs, one of which is an 11-hour/ day job and the other is before and after that work day.  So, at least for these three months, I’ve just decided to be okay with prepared lunches.

That being said, I’m doing my best to find healthy options in a variety of places (especially so I don’t get sick of anything).

20120117-225339.jpg
I got this Southwest Quinoa Salad at Fresh & Easy the other day, thinking that F&E had never failed me before. Sadly, however, this might have been the time. There’s a first for everything, right?

20120117-225345.jpg

It certainly wasn’t terrible (I ate all of it!), but I chose to warm it up (it’s supposed to be served cold) and flavor it with salt & pepper. I might not be the target audience for this meal, though — I loathe the taste of raw red onion, which was a fairly overpowering feature of the dish.

I’ve decided to treat my post-lunch sweet tooth with chocolate in vitamin form. Adora has become my lunchtime dessert.

20120117-225350.jpg
Whoever came up with that idea is a genius.

I’ve totally gotten out of the habit of taking pictures of my food. I didn’t remember to take a picture of my snack (a banana and peanut butter) until I’d almost finished it!

20120117-225356.jpg

Dinner was the most exciting meal of the day. Do you remember Parvin, the girl who gave me P90X? Well, she lives on the east coast, but she’s visiting for the week. I was lucky enough to be included in a dinner she and another friend of ours from middle school, Christine, hosted. They even made a vegetarian option for me! How nice is that?

20120117-225408.jpg

On my plate: vegetarian Thai fried rice, garlic blackened brussels sprouts and salad.

20120117-225414.jpg

I had second(small) scoops of both the rice and the brussels sprouts. So good!

Speaking of good, Christine and Parvin made these delicious oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Their secret ingredient? Ground cloves! Though Parvin made me a little nervous when her clue to the secret ingredient was “you can smoke it.”

20120117-225420.jpg

However, that might have made it a little easier to explain why I had not one, but two. Oh well.

Here’s the group:

20120117-225426.jpg

They were all so much fun! I’d only ever met Christine and Parvin before, so I got to talk to lots of new people.

Alright, so, let’s hear it: What are you eating this Wednesday?

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “The First WIAW(T)

  1. Claire

    I LOVE Adora! I have one of those after lunch every day too!

  2. I’m obsessed with this post, obviously. So fun hanging last night. I am so happy that you were able to come!!!!!

Leave a Reply

