Quinoa White Bean Chili

I’ve actually been sitting on this recipe for a while now.

That’s really quite selfish of me. I’m sorry. Because, honestly, this recipe is really very good.

But, hey, I’m sharing it now, right?

So you can’t really be mad at me.

(If I had a new and awkward picture of myself, this is exactly where I would say, “Plus, you can’t be mad at a face like this!” Alas, I have no such picture… so really, I’m not sure why I bothered with this tangent. Annnnnyway….)

My friend Lauren and I made this dish over a month ago. We got it from Clean Eating Magazine. You can find the original recipe here, but we changed it pretty drastically — and, to be honest, we did so because the original was pretty bland.

Quinoa White Bean Chili

makes 5-6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 large red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 large green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 large yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 15-oz cans white beans
  • 1 16-0z can fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbs chili powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 6 cups fresh chopped spinach
  • grated parmesan to taste (or, if you’re Vegan, don’t)

Directions:

In a large pot, combine quinoa and water and cooke over high heat. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low. Cover tightly and simmer for 15 minutes.

Add bell peppers, beans, diced tomatoes, chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, cumin and oregano to pot. Bring to a simmer and cook, uncovered, for about 10 minutes.

When chili has thickened and the quinoa has a white halo-like appearance, stir in spinach and cook for one more minute, until the spinach has just wilted.

Serve topped with fresh grated parmesan.

And no,  you totally do not have to serve it in a glass jar…


But isn’t it pretty like that?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Quinoa White Bean Chili

  1. Glad you decided to post this! Been looking for a new quiona recipe. And ps. I love storing food in jars. It makes the pantry & fridge look so clean and cozy like! Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

