Fresh and Easy Wine Snapshots

On Thursday night, I had the pleasure of being invited to participate in one of Fresh and Easy‘s wine tasting tweet-ups.

Once again, even though this was a Valentine’s Day wine tasting and the holiday + wine should have together suggested a romantic evening might have been in order…

20120213-092519.jpg

… I spent it with my friend Lauren.

I also spent it with her boyfriend, Gabriel.

20120213-092531.jpg

Honestly, though, it was lovely.

And plus, I’m not sure I had a romantic evening in me. Look how tired I look!

20120213-092526.jpg

On second thought, don’t. Ignore how tired I look. Pretend I’m pretty.

We started with the Chianti (the wine Lauren and I are both posing with above), which was definitely my favorite of the night.

20120213-092541.jpg

It was smooth and strong and tasted much nicer than the very cheap price tag would have implied.

We also tried a bubbly wine, which was super bubbly. I loved that part of it, but the wine was a little too sweet for me — especially after that nice Chianti.

20120213-092552.jpg

Ignore the lemon. We thought it was funny at the time. I blame the wine.

However, on a citrus note, I do think the above wine would make for nice Mimosas.

The third wine was a chocolate wine, which I thought I would love but actually very, very much disliked. I thought it tasted like someone had poured Hershey’s syrup into wine.

20120213-092536.jpg

Lauren liked it, though. And, judging from the tweet chat, so did most people! It just wasn’t my cup of tea.

… or, you know, glass of wine.

We also had to fill ourselves with food to balance out all that wine, so we ate the Fresh and Easy Margherita pizza, which I’d picked up when I’d gotten the wine.

20120213-092547.jpg

The rest of the evening was spent in shenanigans with Lauren and Gabriel’s dog Spot, who thinks he’s a lapdog.

20120213-092557.jpg

20120213-092603.jpg

He totally isn’t. That’s why it’s hilarious. Duh.

Did you try any new wines this weekend?

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Fresh and Easy Wine Snapshots

  1. haha – I love the last picture of Spot on your lap, Kaitlin! Thanks for joining the tasting!

  2. Liz

    You look stunning in that picture. Maybe tired, but your eyes are so communicative in it.

Leave a Reply

