Chocolate Granola for Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day, friends!

I hope you all have loved ones with whom to celebrate. If you do, I think you should be starting your day off with chocolate.

You know, to celebrate.

And if you don’t… you should definitely be starting your day with some chocolate.

To… make yourself feel better. Or, hey, to celebrate being single. Whichever.


It’s because I love you guys that I spent part of my weekend creating a recipe for chocolate granola.

Definitely not because I knew I’d need some chocolate on Tuesday morning.

Not telling you which of the above scenarios has me needing chocolate in the morning, though. 😉

Anyway, I thought this might be a nice Valentine’s Day recipe to wake up to. Healthy, but not too healthy. Chocolate-based, but not wildly caloric (the cocoa makes it taste decadent without being coated in melted chocolate). A good balance. A perfect start to the day.

Chocolate Granola

makes about 2 1/2 cups worth… whatever that means to you, serving-wise 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup agave
  • 2 tbs vegetable or canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup slivered or sliced almonds (I actually switched to sliced after I took the above picture)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Set oven to 300 degrees.

Pour all ingredients into a bowl. Mix, preferably with a wooden spoon.

Try really hard not to eat some with a spoon.

Fail. There’s no raw egg in there. Fail happily.

Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray.

Spread (remaining) granola mixture evenly across the baking sheet.

Bake for 30 minutes, tossing the granola every seven-ish minutes.

Voila! That’s it. I love easy recipes.

Serve however you want.

So far, I’ve tried it with milk…

Almond milk…

(soooo good)

And in a delicious yogurt bowl for Valentine’s morning. 🙂

Delicious. Decadent. Still healthy.

And totally holiday-appropriate.

Happy Valentine’s Day! Did you have chocolate in your breakfast today? Share!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Chocolate Granola for Valentine’s Day

  1. What a lovely idea. It’s very bad, but I do rather like starting the day with chocolate!

  2. I’m totally making this when I get home. Ever since Attune discontinued their chocolate granola I haven’t found any that I liked!

  3. Pingback: WIAW: Valentine’s Day | Kaitlin With Honey

  4. Pingback: Aren’t CHO Glad? Giveaway! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

