Tortellini Soup

Good lord, did this day get away from me. How is it 5:30PM? How??

Anyway. I was going to call this “I’m Sick Soup,” but then I didn’t want to make anybody think that the soup was what made me sick.

And it’s definitely a good thing I’m not calling this “Food Poisoning Soup,” right?

To be clear, the soup didn’t give me food poisoning. A stupid, awful, frozen meal that I left out for way too long did.

This soup is what made me feel better.

But… let’s stop talking about food poisoning in a recipe post, shall we?

Anyway, this soup is great. It’s easy. It’s literally “dump it all in a pot” easy. My favorite kind of recipe these days.

And I got all of the ingredients at Target because I simply didn’t have it in me to go grocery shopping anywhere else.

Tortellini Soup

makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 16-oz cans vegetable broth
  • 1 26-oz can condensed tomato soup
  • 1 26-oz can-full of water
  • 1 package Buitoni (or whatever) whole wheat tortellini
  • 1 can white kidney beans
  • 3 cups frozen mixed vegetable (I used peas/ carrots/ green beans)
  • 2 cups frozen chopped spinach
  • 2 tsp Italian spice blend (parsley/ rosemary/ thyme)
  • 3/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan/ romano cheese (plus more to top with)

Directions:

Bring vegetable broth, condensed tomato soup and water to a boil.

Add tortellini, mixed vegetables, spinach, Italian spice blend and garlic powder and cook for 8-11 minutes over high heat (until tortellini is cooked through).

Add cheese and cook for another minute or so more.

Serve, topped with a little more cheese if you know what’s good for you. 😉

Almost as easy from soup from a can — just a little fresher!

Enjoy. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Tortellini Soup

  1. i love soups with lots of veggies in them. plus, how can you go wrong with tortellini in it too?!

  2. Hope you are feeling better!

  3. This looks so yummy and warming. I’ve never tried pasta of any sort in a soup, but clearly I’m missing out. I do hope it has the desired effect.

  4. Pingback: WIAW: Leap Day Eve | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

